We’ve spent the last few weeks covering all of the new enhancements to the time axis in OnePager 6.1. Now we can shift gears a bit to discuss upgrades in other areas, starting with Auto-Save.
If you’ve ever gotten the Blue Screen of Death, been interrupted by a Windows Update, power outage, or had Microsoft Project crash, you know how frustrating it can be to lose your work, especially if you haven’t saved recently. With OnePager 6.1, we’ll now save a backup copy of your open file every five minutes. Hopefully, you’ll never need it, but better safe than sorry.
To be clear, OnePager will never automatically save changes on top of your main file. Instead, we save a separate copy of your file and store it in a safe place so that you can restore it if you ever need to.
To see where Auto-Save is storing your backup files, launch OnePager, and go to File > Options:
You’ll see a checkbox to turn the Auto-Save feature on or off. We strongly recommend leaving it on at all times. All of your backup files will be saved to your default Project Views folder, whatever that is. In my case, it’s on my desktop, meaning that every five minutes or so, OnePager will save a backup file to my desktop, like this:
These backup files are designed to be deleted automatically whenever OnePager closes successfully. So, under normal circumstances, as soon as you close OnePager, we’ll go out and remove any backup files, since it’s clear at that point that you won’t need to restore them, and you don’t want them cluttering up your computer. But if anything ever causes your computer to crash before OnePager can be closed the normal way, the backup files will remain so that you can get back to work without having lost too much time.